Alkemia Perfumes Review – Best Indie Fragrances Part I

Perfume is one of the things I am fascinated by and yet find very hard to shop for. In fact, I only have two perfumes that I love – Flower by Kenzo and Tropical Punch by Escada. That’s it. Every other fragrance has left me a bit cold. I mean, I like a lot of scents I just don’t love them.

This year I have started the journey to find the perfect perfumes – hopefully I can find at least 3 more perfumes that I can wear all day long and not get bored of them.

After haunting several department store perfume sections and leaving without finding the scent for me, I decided to cast my net wider and look try out some indie perfumes. Indie perfumes are those non-big brand perfumes that are are mostly sold online. Since I already buy from Etsy I decided to try out Alkemia.

Alkemia Perfumes Review

alkemia perfume oil

Alkemia perfume oil, 3 full sized (5 ml) bottles and 6 sample vials

Brand: Alkemia
Product type: Perfume oils
Where to buy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/Alkemia
Price: $12 for a 5 ml. bottle

The Alkemia online store on Etsy is so great. Each perfume has a full description that is very tempting. I had to stop myself from buying a dozen full perfume bottles because some of the descriptions made me fall in love with them. I was originally going to buy just one perfume to try out but I simply could not choose just one.

Store description: “Alkemia’s perfumes are blended with science, passion, and magic.”

alkemia persephone perfume

Alkemia Persephone perfume

Perfume description:

“Queen of the Underworld, beloved of Hades -Lord of the Dead, Persephone is the power that retreats beneath the earth every winter and bursts forth with radiant life in the spring.

Ripe pomegranates, dark red merlot wine, & a dichotomy of dark and solar ambers…”

Alkemia Perfumes Review – My perfume haul

For my first foray into the exciting world of indie perfumes, I bought three full-sized perfumes (5 ml each): Persephone Pomegranate, Blessed Bee, and Elixir of Aphrodite. These were the three that I thought I would like the most. Then, I took the plunge and bought five samples for $10. The five samples I chose were: Irrésistible, Magus, Vixen, Woods on a Snowy Evening, and Faerie Queene.

After I bought all of this I got a store message saying “We love to include free samples with our orders. If you have purchased one or more full size items and have two Alkemia scents that you’d like to try, please convo us with your choices… otherwise we will just surprise you.” I asked for a surprise and got Carmen 7 and Blackberry Noir.

All in all I now have a total of 10 new scents to try out!

Alkemia Perfumes Review – Perfume Oil vs EDT sprays

The first thing I noticed is that the indie perfumes available are almost all perfume oils. In department stores I like to buy eau de toilette (EDT) sprays so oils are a new experience for me. I read a bit about perfume oils so I knew before I got the items from Alkemia that perfume oils are much stronger than EDT sprays. EDTS contain a lot of alcohol and they smell very light. I actually really love spraying mine! Perfume oils, on the other hand, are much more concentrated so users only need to apply a very small amount on pulse points.

As someone who is not used to perfume oil, the first time I opened a bottle I was taken aback by the sheer strength of the scent. The scent impact is ten times stronger than an EDT bottle. You know how if you open an EDT vial, a soft, gentle scent wafts into your nose? A perfume oil bottle is like being slapped in the face with a perfumed glove.

Despite the strong initial impact, actually when I apply the perfume oil on my pulse points (I use the wrist and back of the knees), it’s really not too strong at all. In fact, compared to spraying EDT all over myself and my clothes, the few drops of perfume oil I apply is not as strong as the EDT spray.

Once I apply the oil, it seems to linger faintly on my skin for a long time but it does not stay in the air around me much. I asked four different people if they could smell me from 4 feet away and all of them said no – and that’s exactly the way I like it.

I absolutely hate when someone wears a very strong perfume that people can smell from a mile away. The Alkemia perfume oils are subtle and I can control the amount quite nicely.

Alkemia Perfumes Review – Persephone Pomegranate Perfume Oil

As a big fan of Greek myth, I absolutely had to have this one! In my opinion, this scent is very unique and lovely. It smells like pomegranate, merlot, and amber. I have never heard of a perfume with this combination.

I was quite skeptical when I opened the bottle. Putting it on my skin was a bit frightening, honestly I was afraid people would think I was stinky because the scent is so unusual. When applied on my wrist it is quite strong. However, after a few minutes it seems to be absorbed by my skin and becomes much less penetrating.

I would describe the scent as dark, sensual, and warm. I like it but I don’t quite love it. I tried it for one day and the scent was quite subtle for around 8 hours.

Verdict: 7/10, unusual and worth buying but I don’t love it

Alkemia Perfumes Review – Blessed Bee Perfume Oil

This is a discontinued scent by Alkemia. The store description stated they only had a few more bottles left so I thought I had better grab one before they ran out.

This perfume oil is supposed to smell like honey. In the bottle it is quite musky and strong. Applied on my skin it fades after only a few minutes and then smells faintly powdery.

Sadly, I could not smell the honey at all. Perhaps the honey scent blended with my skin chemistry in such a way that it got overpowered? Or maybe the bottle was old and the scent had faded? Not sure what happened but I did not like it.

Verdict: 3/10, smell too delicate, not compatible with my body chemistry

Alkemia Perfumes Review – Elixir of Aphrodite Perfume Oil

Another Greek myth-themed perfume for me, because I cannot get enough of Goddess-themed scents. 😀

This is a very complicated scent that according to the description is:

“Persian apricots dipped in orange blossom honey swirling with a sensual enchantment of peach and plum blossoms, mimosa, white star jasmine, ambrette, guiac wood, and vanilla musk.”

As you can see from the description above there is a lot going on here. In the bottle the smell is surprisingly yummy. It’s almost like something I want to drink up, perhaps like a fruit liqueur scent.

On my pulse points it also smells delicious. Not quite edible but something very lush and fruity. The smell is quite addictive. As I wore it, I kept smelling my own wrists because it seems to change every 30 minutes or so.

I have to be honest though, the Elixir of Aphrodite is a complex, delightful scent but I still don’t love it. It’s nice and fruity but too musky for me. Like, I could see how this would be perfect for other girls but not for me. I guess I am hard to please.

Verdict: 8/10, it really does smell like something Aphrodite would wear

Alkemia Perfumes Review – Woods on a Snowy Evening Perfume Oil Perfume Oil

This particular perfume was chosen by my 13-year-old niece.

Freshly fallen powder snow, juniper berries, hemlock pine, white needle balsam pine, flat cedar, camphorous evergreens, and icy aquatic elements

From the description given, this is not the sort of thing I would buy for myself but out of the 10 perfumes I bought, this is the one I liked the best. It just goes to show that descriptions aren’t enough – you have to try it yourself and something that sounds unappealing could turn out to be the best scent for you.

The scent of this one is sweet, clean and fresh.

Verdict: 10/10, awesome for everyday use

Alkemia Perfumes Review – Conclusion

I have tried out four out of my 10 Alkemia perfumes and so far I found one winner. The perfumes are of very good quality. I have not been disappointed because all of these indie perfumes have a unique scent. If you have the money, Alkemia is a good buy since they have a lot of different perfumes at a reasonable price.

I have already ordered another batch of indie perfumes (from a different perfumery) that I will review later.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

